Ear To The Ground: Our Picks of June Releases

Music to my ears……literally! June has been packed with great house and disco releases and the crack squad of listeners here at LHM have picked between them six next level creations for your listening pleasure. Have a read and listen below.

Crackazat – Back For You (Nervous)
We first got a taste of this mans vocals on his stunning album Evergreen, which is still getting plenty of listening time at LHM towers. This wondrous soulful house track sits perfectly on Nervous and his brilliant vocals and unbelievable keys, that take over for the latter part of the track, are just two elements of many that will get your juices flowing. The dub offers a different vibe (well of course, it’s a dub!!) and this is not just a stripped down version but a well crafted alternative. Dropping new layers and sounds make this a classy head down version and not the often cheap knock off lazy dub that can often find it’s way onto an EP. As always, loving your work Crackazat!

John Rocca – I Want To Be Real – Late Nite Tuff Guy Remix (South Street Records)
Aussie edit king, Late Nite Tuff Guy gets his hands on John Rocca’s (Southern Freeze) ‘I Want It to Be Real’, releasing on South Street Records this week. The 80s dance classic housed some tantalising synth work, muscley bass lines, with the nostalgic vocal.  LNTG builds on this already masterful affair with added synth magic, introducing some clever filtering to the mix. On the vinyl release we are treated to  ‘Farley ‘Jackmasters’ 1987 Hot House Piano Mix’ on the flip.

Ralph Session ft Mr V – Bounce To This (Snatch Records)
Following on from a host of impressive offerings so far this year, Snatch do the honours releasing a collaboration between Ralph Session and Mr V, an artist and human Ralph states has been a mentor and massive influence in his development. The underground mix drops chugging house beats, synth stabs and atmospheric layers, deep rolling bass line and cool as fuck vocal that Ralph places and effects just right! The accompanying Hip House mix is everything you expect, bouncing beats, funky as hell piano, organ loops and horns to boot. The boy can do no wrong right now and watch this space as his forthcoming is about to drop and it’s another killer.

Amy Douglas – Freak At Night (Razor-N-Tape)
New York Disco Diva and one- woman party, Amy Douglas, releases on Brooklyn label, Razor-N-Tape, with her storming new record ‘Freak at Night’. She has written songs for Roisin Murphy, and together with Hot Chip’s Joe Goddard, they formed Hard Feelings. This double A sided 7” bomb was co-written with RNT label boss Jkriv. Together they have produced two hot and heavy modern disco classics, sure to blow up the dancefloor if dropped at exactly the right moment.

Greg Paulus & Taylor Bense – Heat Makes Sense (Freerange Records)
No Regular Play’s Greg Paulus is back on our favourite London label, Freerange Records. Together with studio partner Taylor Bense, they’ve produced this monumental, multi storied EP which will have you questioning “Is Prince actually back in room?”.  Not one to be confined to a genre, Greg takes us through a kaleidoscope of emotions, featuring vocal performances for Malik Work, and New Yorks Big $exy. Closing out the EP there’s more dynamite from the mighty Martinez Brothers who have a stab at ‘Do You Love Me’.

Tigerbalm – Nina EP (Razor-N-Tape)
A double hit for Razor-N-Tape onthis edition of ETTG, this time with Tigerbalm. The brilliant title track Nina brings global dance vibes to the dance floor. Cleverly created percussive beats build along with the track as a whole, with sax loops and stabs, infectious vocal and all with subtle changes and additional layers which make this one quality piece of work. This track will no doubt create some hypnotic dance floor affects. Remixes from Elado who takes the tempo up a notch to create a bit of a club stomper and Violaaa who transforms the song into a driving and authentic classic Zouk arrangement.